REGISTER to receive our monthly newsletter - with updates as we strive to promote aviation professionals who are doing for others, enter your email address:

Purchase the book:

All Profits Support
Aviation Charities

Contact the author with a question or comment:
Tom Murphy .org

Click to Enlarge

Aviation workers profiled, include (top left) Bernie Schettino, Tom Innace, Sue Baer. Front row, Terri Rizzuto, Toni Knisley and Debbie Roland, with author, Tom Murphy.

For "Links" to Aviation Charities Click here

Please Tell-A-Friend about this site.

Classic "Proudly I Fly" stories:

"My Uniform"
Aviation "Thank You"
Why Does Mary Fly?
Turning Loss into Action
Flying the Flag
Joy in Giving

The Newark Int'l Airport Managers Council presented this memorial in honor of all those at EWR who lost their lives on 9/11, including on FL 93 and with the Port Authority of NY/NJ.


$3,300 in awards - see details below!

(Essays accepted until Aug 1, 2021)

Download a Program Description

Winners in the Essay Competition will be announced at Newark Airport during the first week of September, 2021 (date TBA) in commemoration of the 20th anniversary of 9/11.

Newark Liberty International Airport is the site of a 9/11 memorial presented to the Port Authority of NY and NJ by NIAMCO (the Newark Int'l Airport Manager's Council, pictured above.)

There will be awards of $1,000 for the winners in each of three categories, as well as three Honorable Mention awards of $100 each. The three categories are:

  • Airport employees (including airline employees with jobs at airports)
  • Airline employees (flight attendants and pilots)
  • Aviation students, both college and high school aviation students (recruited through University Aviation Association, a program partner.)


The Airport Employee award will be named in memory of Susan Baer, general manager of EWR on 9/11 and those who perished on Flight 93, which departed from Newark Airport.

The Airline Employee award will be named in memory of Ken and Jennifer Lewis, American Airlines flight attendants on FL 77, and those who perished on that plane and at the Pentagon.

The Aviation Student award will be named in memory of Maryanne MacFarlane and Jesus Sanchez, United Airlines employees in Boston, and those who perished on Flight 175.

The three Honorable Mention awards will be named in memory of Betty Ong, American Airlines flight attendant on Flight 11 and those who perished on that flight. Betty Ong called into authorities from the plane that morning to report the terrorists.


Airport Employee award will be $1000.
Aviation Employee award will be $1,000.
Aviation Student award will be $1,000.

Each of the three Honorable Mention winners will receive $100.

Return to HOME

Return to Essay Competition